Stamford is a CT city on Long Island Sound, with a population of 129,309 - the 2nd most populous city in Fairfield County. Its area is quite diverse offering a boating community, and a vibrant downtown. Gilda Radner and Vivian Vance once lived in the city.
Parks and recreation Wikipedia
Stamford boasts miles of accessible shoreline for recreation as well as two public beaches.
- Mill River Park is located in the center of downtown but its ancient grist mill (present when George Washington traveled through Stamford) was modernized in the 1920s. There are numerous community activities offered at the park coordinated by the Mill River Park Collaborative.
- Cummings Park, a public beach, was once a popular spot for shell fishing. The park was developed in 1906 and had been known as Halloween Park because Mayor Homer Cummings cast the deciding vote to create it on Halloween Night.
- The 83-acre (340,000 m2) Cove Island Park, once a farm and then an enormous factory site (Stamford Manufacturing Company), offers visitors a choice of beaches as well as picnic grounds and bluffs. It has a small wildlife sanctuary in the southwest corner that might be interesting for bird watchers. SoundWaters Community Center for Environmental Education is located at the northeast part of the park.
- Jackie Robinson Park on the West Side is named after baseball legend Jackie Robinson, who lived in Stamford.
- Terry Connors Ice Rink shares a parking lot with Cove Island Park. It offers public ice skating, group lessons, and ice hockey. It is the home of the Stamford Youth Hockey Association.
- Scalzi Park on Bridge Street has a playground, baseball and softball fields, volleyball courts, tennis courts, bocce courts, basketball courts, roller hockey courts, and a baseball stadium named "Cubeta Stadium". A concrete skate park was opened at Scalzi in July 2007 for $309,850 which was designed and built by Grindline Skateparks Inc. of Seattle, Washington.
- Stamford has two municipal golf courses. Sterling Farms Golf Course opened in May 1972 and is the more popular. The facility also has a driving range, restaurant, and six tennis courts.
- The E. Gaynor Brennan Golf Course, referred to locally as Hubbard Heights, opened for play in 1922 as a private course and was purchased by the city in 1949.
- Dorothy Heroy Park is located in North Stamford.
- Mianus River Park is 187 acres of nature reserve in Stamford, owned by the city.
- The Italian Center features tennis courts, swimming pools, fitness centers, a playground and a miniature golf course.
- The YMCA of Stamford offers swimming lessons and sports which include; basketball and indoor soccer. Programs are also available periodically for physical fitness.
- The Stamford Yacht Club is a private organization that provides members with access